Staff

Staff Contact Information

Capitol Office

Erin Baum, Chief of Staff - Erin.Baum@asm.ca.gov
Sonja Oehler, Executive Assistant - Sonja.Oehler@asm.ca.gov
Riana King, Legislative Director -  Riana.King@asm.ca.gov
Nicole Restmeyer, Legislative Aide - Nicole.Restmeyer@asm.ca.gov
Hersh Gupta, Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellow  - Hersh.Gupta@asm.ca.gov

District Office

Tom Paulino, District Director - Tom.Paulino@asm.ca.gov
Jen Kwart, Communications Director - Jennifer.Kwart@asm.ca.gov
Ramona Mora, Field Representative - Ramona.Mora@asm.ca.gov
Luis Zamora, Field Representative - Luis.Zamora@asm.ca.gov
Michelle Kong, Field Representative - Michelle.Kong@asm.ca.gov

Assembly Housing & Community Development Committee

Lisa Engel, Chief Consultant - Lisa.Engel@asm.ca.gov
Steve Wertheim, Consultant - Steve.Wertheim@asm.ca.gov
Sandra Nakagawa, Consultant - Sandra.Nakagawa@asm.ca.gov

 

Legislative Staff by Bills Authored by Assemblymember Chiu

Bill Number Subject Staff
AB 15 COVID-19 relief: tenancy: Tenant Stabilization Act of 2021. Sandra Nakagawa
AB 16 Tenancies: COVID-19 Tenant, Small Landlord, and Affordable Housing Provider Stabilization Act of 2021. Sandra Nakagawa
AB 215 Housing element. Steve Wertheim
AB 245 Educational equity: student records: name and gender changes. Nicole Restmeyer
AB 328 Reentry Housing Program. Hersh Gupta
AB 401 Employment Development Department: language translations. Riana King
AB 481 Law enforcement agencies: military equipment: funding, acquisition, and use. Hersh Gupta
AB 525 Energy: offshore wind generation. Erin Baum
AB 550 Pedestrian safety. Nicole Restmeyer
AB 583 Remote marriage license issuance and solemnization. Erin Baum
AB 629 Subdivisions: local ordinances. Nicole Restmeyer
AB 666 Apprenticeship. Hersh Gupta
AB 733 Dental hygienists Riana King
AB 816 State and local agencies: homelessness plan. Lisa Engel
AB 915 Small and disadvantaged business enterprises. Riana King
AB 1087 Environmental Justice Community Resilience Hubs Program. Erin Baum
AB 1184 Healthcare. Riana King
AB 1259 Criminal Procedure: motion to vacate. Nicole Restmeyer
AB 1323 Infrastructure technology. Riana King
AB 1478 Firearms: unsafe handguns. Erin Baum

 

Legislative Staff by Issue Area

Erin Baum, Chief of Staff

Banking & Finance
Environmental Safety & Toxic Materials
Insurance
Natural Resources
Public Employee, Retirement & Social Security
Utilities & Energy
Water, Parks & Wildlife
Environmental Caucus

Riana King, Legislative Director

Accountability & Administrative Review
Appropriations
Budget* Member
Budget Sub 4* Member
Governmental Organization
Health
Labor & Employment
Veterans Affairs
Women's Caucus

Nicole Restmeyer, Legislative Assistant

Business & Professions *Member
Communications & Conveyance
Education
Local Government
Privacy & Consumer Protection
Public Safety
Transportation
Bay Area Caucus
LGBT Caucus

Hersh Gupta, Assembly Fellow

Aging & Long Term Care
Agriculture
Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism, and Internet Media* Member
Elections & Redistricting
Higher Education
Human Services
Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy
Judiciary* Member
Revenue & Taxation
API Caucus
Tech Caucus

Lisa Engel, Chief Consultant

Housing & Community Development* Chair

Steve Wertheim, Consultant

Housing & Community Development* Chair

Sandra Nakagawa, Consultant

Housing & Community Development* Chair